What is IELTS?

IELTS provides a profile of a test taker’s ability to use English. Results are reported as band scores, on a scale from 1 being the lowest to 9 being the highest. Test takers receive an overall band score and individual scores for each test component (Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking). This 9-band scale has been a standard English proficiency measuring system for the past three decades.

IELTS offers you a choice of two versions of the test, an Academic or a General Training test, to serve both an academic and non-academic audience, making IELTS relevant to people planning to study, migrate, or work abroad.

IELTS tests consist of four parts

  • Listening
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Speaking

For more information about the IELTS test's format, visit the IELTS Test Format page.

As we are jointly owned by three reputable, international organizations, the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia, and Cambridge English Language Assessment (part of the University of Cambridge), we offer trusted and quality testing services in Toronto.